Woodware Challenge from LLinda’s – Poppies… as we remember

Our July Retailer is Linda who runs LLinda’s Craft Shop in Laneham, North Nottinghamshire. LLinda’s is a shop full of inspiration and with regular paper crafting workshops. Linda is one of the talented bunch that qualified as Certified Dreamweaver Teachers earlier in the year. Llinda’s Blog will give you a glimpse of the goings on in the shop. You can find workshop details, directions and much much more on LLinda’s Website. As this is an important year of remembrance the theme that Linda has chosen is

The Poppy….as we remember 

I have cheated a little bit, what’s new  I hear you say. I visited the National Memorial Arboretum earlier this year. A place that I  can highly recommend, it is a wonderful national asset. They start tree planting in 1997 they now have 50,000 trees and they describe it as a place of life to wander around and wonder. The memorials are both military and civilian, for adults and children.

While I was there I bought a very large fabric poppy.

Fast forward to June  my son and his wife have an invitation to the Queens Garden Party at Holyrood Palace in Edinburgh. As well as a new dress a hat is a must. Edwige was given a hat by a friend but it  had to be dressed up. When Edwige spotted my poppy we decided that it would be perfect.

hat

So to commemorate the occasion I have made a scrap book page.

5

It also coincided with their second wedding anniversary, a very special way to spend the day.

1

I stamped the Stampendous King’s Teapot cling rubber stamp. I used the Schoolhouse Mixed Media Inx to stamp with.

3

I stamped the Hearts Paper Ribbon with the same ink.

4

They were blessed with the weather.

5

For the journaling I just wrote the caption with a Tombow Dual Brush Pen.

So it is all about remembering.

I hope to get my flower back, as it reminds me of a special place  which is hope that some of you will visit.

Leave a Reply

