Woodware Challenge – New Home

I started off this project with a clear idea of what I wanted to do and because I had one last week to add something to the Dream it UP blog and the Fauna and Floral challenge I set out to use a flower stencil, well didn’t quite work:(

In the end I have two projects to share.

bagComplete

A decorated jute bag.

Card

and a card.

First my bag, it is an up-cycled one where I have covered the logo on the bag,

bag

but Woodware has just managed to get hold of them in two sizes. You can see them here. This one is smaller than the ones that we stock, but I wanted to use it for a house warming gift so here we are.

bag1

I have used Craft Canvas and cut it too slightly smaller than the bag. Craft Canvas is wonderful to use it is a fabric that you can cut like paper and it doesn’t fray when cut.

cardInk

I used the ColorBox Sytlus and Crafters Re-inkers to paint the background. Just smush them together to blend the colours.  A quick blast with a heat tool to set the ink.

Canvasroof

I cut my house from Craft Canvas too for the roof and the chimney I used the Dreamweaver Crusade Stencil and a Micron pen.

canvaschimney

the stencil is an official Zentangle Pattern designed by Mr Dreamweaver.

canvashouse2

On the house I used the Crackle Jumbo Rollagraph to make my brick work. I was rather careless and used felt pens to draw in my curtains.

windows

So I cut squares and stenciled them with the Dreamweaver Zen Flower. Sometimes the mistakes are a positive! I like my door with the heart brad door knocker.

pasted-flower

now because I wanted to use a flower I decided to paste Shasta Flower it looked great but hideous with my house!

Canvas3

See

complete

So we have plan B! I moved the house to the cover the flower and added a stenciled tree to the left hand side. The patern round the 2 sides is another Rollagraph this time Floral Flourish. The flower has been punched from some gold metal.

BagCloseup

I finished off the bottom with some Burlap Ribbon.

I am really please with the sun in the sky it has been stamped with Jane’s Dorothy Stamp, it is one of the most useful stamps that I have ever owned! Thank you Jane!

So now for the card

cardHouse

I have done it in the same way but I cut it all from card and it is 6 x 6 inches. This time I used card and not canvas.

CardCl

For the roof i used the same stencil but coloured it differently. Instead of the stencil I used the Leafless Tree die cut.

Thanks for visiting.

4 thoughts on “Woodware Challenge – New Home

  1. What a brilliant idea to upcycle this bag, and in such an artistic way. Your collage design is amazing, and I love all the patterns and textures in this house. I really must try this! I’m so pleased that you could join us for the Dreamweaver May Challenge.

  2. awww….what a darling creation Dorrie! Love all the elements but my fave is your roof! So clever you are!

Leave a Reply

