Woodware are as Mad as Hatters…with The Stamp Pad

 The challenge on the Woodware blog this week is Mad Hatters I hope you check the posts out as I think it could be a fun week!

I have made a box hat

8

Yes it looks like a hat, but it is sitting on a wooden bobbin and won’t go on your head!

The story in pictures…

1

I have used a straight sided plastic tub for the inside, I measured my Craft Canvas and then sprayed it with Clearsnap Artichoke Dye Ink Spray.

2

I used the Woodware Compass Cutter to cut some scrap mounting board. Go gently around over and over again to ease your way through the thick card.

I have used Double Sided Adhesive sheets to attach the Craft Canvas I put the sticky sheet on the canvas because I had allowed for an over lap.

3

Can you see my not so deliberate mistake? I have spray much more heavily at one end of the canvas than the other, which was not really noticeable on the flat sheet of canvas, well not so noticeable! It is at the back, so I have not done anything about it.

4

I stuck a piece of card on the bottom so that it was flat. Make slits in the canvas so that the fullness is catered for when you fold over the excess, this give a fairly neat finish.

4A

I added another piece of card just to keep it neat and again give me a good join to the base.

Carefully attach to the solid brim.

6

The join at the bottom is not very neat, but that is what ribbon is for.

7

Add a lid, this is just a circle of card with canvas on both sides, again all stuck together with Double Sided Adhesive sheets

9

To decorate I have used the Burlap Flowers and Ribbon.

Also the new Woodware Cotton Ribbon in Natural the ribbon comes in 15mm and 6mm I have used the 15mm to wrap around the hat. I made a multi bow with the 6mm and the medium (middle) sized template from the Brilliant Bow Maker.

11

I inked all of the edges with the Caribbean Surfacez ink. And used some ribbon and double sided tape to attach the top of the hat.

10

The tag on the top had been punched and the stamped with the Rollagraph Define it. I have then written on my little ditti.

 

I hope that you enjoy Woodware’s  Mad Hatters week, brought to you by

Gwenstampy of the Stamp Pad

The Stamp Pad –       Facebook

Blog –       Gwenstampy

Web site –     Papercraft Junkie

More mad hatters on the Woodware Blog

Thanks for visitng see you soon!

2 thoughts on “Woodware are as Mad as Hatters…with The Stamp Pad

  1. Your little hat is a masterpiece.! I really enjoyed reading how you created it. Thankyou for joining in over at Craft my Life this challenge. Hugs Mrs A. (DT).

Leave a Reply

