Woodware Challenge – What Do You Do With Your Brayer?

Well I know that I organise all of the themes for the Woodware Blog, but well I do have a Speedball Brayer, in fact I think that I have 3, only they are so well tucked away somewhere that I can’t find them, but on the bright side I have a Rollagraph with a a blank Jumbo Wheel. So I was saved!

Here is what I have made.

14

A book cover, I love note books and they are even better when they have a handmade cover!

The book is an 8 x 8 Journal I have used Craft Canvas to make the cover

1

I have cut the Craft Canvas so that it raps around the journal and then put in pin to mark the folds. Press the folds with a bone folder to mark them.

2

I wrapped different sizes of rubber bands around the roller.

4

and rolled lines all over the canvas.

3

I used Crafters ink pads, in three colours Limon, Jungle, and Bark.

6a

I then used the Dreamweaver Gears stencil and stenciled with the bark pad.

8

Then I got out my sewing machine and attached some fine wadding along one edge with a zig-zag stitch. Then the fun begins… I have stitched all over the Craft Canvas with a free machine stitch, this is just like doodling.

9

I have stamped in the bottom front corner two of the sayings from the Stampendous Know Your Heart Perfectly Clear set. I have only added the stitching on the outside of the cover and not on the folded over part to add some contrast.

6

For the front panel I have only used the green inks and then I spread a very thin coat of Translucent Embossing Paste i left this to dry and then with the Gears stencil I emboss pasted with the Dreamweaver Crackle Paste.

10

I stitched the panel on to the front of the cover.

11

I have used a wide zig-zag with a short stitch length the Craft Canvas does not fray so I didn’t really need to have close stitches.

12

This is the front before it has been stitched up.

14

the front

15

the back.

On the way I made some other bits

16

Here I used the Dreamweaver Zen Flower with Translucent Paste

17

A close up

18

I then very lightly inked it with Bark Crafters

This was very dumb

20

without thinking about it the first stencil that I chose was this one, looks great, but you sort of loose the brayering!

21

but the metallic copper paste looks great and the texture of the canvas really shows through, so this piece  will be used one day.

One thought on “Woodware Challenge – What Do You Do With Your Brayer?

  1. WOW…Gorgeous project… Love the step by step… Amazing… Thank you for joining us at Craft my Life Challenge… Hugs May x x

Leave a Reply

