Woodware Challenge – Blue

A couple of weekends ago I went off to West Yorkshire for a Craft Retreat organised by Gwen from The Stamp Pad in Greenfield Saddleworth, it was a great weekend, and Judith (Mrs Woodware) had a great time and I think she was the only one to finish everything! I of course didn’t do as I was told….

On the Saturday morning we painted boxes with the new chalky finish paint from Americana it is great we then added paper to some of the sides and stencilled some of the other sides, this was my first trip to the dark side…

8

Well to the BLUE side, instead of using the stencil provided which was very nice and the silver paint I went for ink pads.

4

The stencil is one of the new Art Screens from ColorBox this one is Bloom.

5

I even stencilled on the lovely papers.

7

and inside. We decorated a small wooden frame too.

So well I am pleased to be able to share these with you and they inspired me for my blue project.

3

I have up-cycled some old wooden coasters.

plain

They have been painted in the same chalky blue on both sides. When painting them do the edges 2 at a time so you can hold the coasters without getting too much paint on your hands.

6

To colour them I used the Bloom Art Screen and a mixture of Aruba and Wave Crafters Ink Pads applied with the ColorBox Stylus and foam pads.

After I had coloured the six mats I came up with a good idea, inspired by Julie one of the girls that work at the Stamp Pad and some wooden carved coasters that my daughter bought some time ago.

2

I have stencilled a jigsaw on the back side! I have used the same blue so you have to work out which side to put together!

So thanks to the girls from the Stamp Pad for my Blue inspiration!

drawer

Now this is a trial would it be too much to do the whole thing like this?

Thanks for visiting, see you soon, and you will find lots of blue on the Woodware Blog this week.

2 thoughts on “Woodware Challenge – Blue

Leave a Reply

