Woodware Challenge – Spring Flowers

This week on the Woodware blog we are looking at Spring Flowers, and I have sort of cheated (again, yes) but I have a new toy!

My flowers are not really spring like, but I think that they are pretty!

1

I have made my flowers with the Brilliant Bowmaker Scrap Pack

BowmakerAd

Jane the Flower Girl made all of these samples, and you can see that you get four templates in the set.

3

The flowers I have made on the Snap Template (the hexagonal one)

2

You can make your flowers any size, mine have 3 inch and 4 inch petals. The video shows you how to make them.

I have used silver grosgrain ribbon and coloured it with Crafter’s ink in Aruba and Spiced Plum. I just ink the Color Blender from the ink pad and pull the ribbon through.

7

The frame that I have used is from Ikea it has a 12cm x 12cm aperture. To decorate it I used a Clear Scraps Flower Border as a mask.

6

I used scrap paper so that I could mitre the corners, and coloured with the Color Blender and the Spiced Plum. My blender sponge was a bit messy, but I like the effect that you get, it had a bit of blue on it before I started.

8

For inside the aperture I used the Dreamweaver Zen Flower stencil and the Letter Press Technique.

10

Here is my messy bits! I tried it on cream card first, but my grape dye ink spray was too strong, so I sprayed it on to the Kraft Card. Letter Press is done by spraying the stencil and then running it through my Big Shot to emboss the card and transfer he ink.

9

I added just a touch of the Spiced Plum ink to the stenciled image.

4

Once I had placed the flowers I decided that I wanted some words so I used the Stampendous Perfectly Clear set Know Your Heart.

5

I stitched the flowers together and added buttons to the centre.

12

The other three templates make even sized bows, this one I have wrapped around the template twice.

13

I used 2 colours of ribbon for this one.

14

For his one I just kept wrapping the ribbon around the template!

15

It made a great simple card. The background is the Brick Wall Mascil and the greeting is from the Just Words Collection.

Thank you for visiting, I am off to make some more bows….

3 thoughts on “Woodware Challenge – Spring Flowers

  1. Pingback: Woodware Challenge – Acetate | dorrie's doodles

Leave a Reply

