Woodware and Crafty Cardmakers – Mixed Media

CraftyCrad2014-header

Woodware are playing along with the Crafty Card Makers and More… this week, the challenge will be open on their blog for two weeks. If you would like to play along with us please check the Crafty Card Maker rules then use the link on the Crafty Card Makers Blog to add your card or if you are not a blogger yet you can e-mail your card to me as usual Dorothy@woodware.co.uk  and I will post it and add it to the Crafty Card Makers and more… Blog

This week has been hard to decide what to use and what to do, not easy with so much choice as Woodware has so many cool new things! I was saved by a post on the Clear Scraps blog. When I was at CHA in January I was lucky enough to do a project with Susan Frase of Clear Scraps using alcohol inks, so I have put what I learned to the test, it has worked out fairly well, but boy has it been difficult to photograph.

13

It has not helped that today has been very over case so no sunshine to shine through my scrapbook page.

and with the clear acrylic you get 2 pages for the price of one.

12

I enjoy using acrylic, and with the alcohol ink if you don’t like what you have done just get your Dreamweaver Cleaner and Thinner and wipe it all away and start again!

2

The page has been made on a Clear Scraps 12 x 12 blank acrylic sheet they come with a protective layer on both sides to protect them, remove one of the layers and on that side apply your inks I have used the Dreamweaver Color Solutions in Iceburg and Blue Velvet I put a few drops of each on to the Dreamweaver applicator and coloured all over the acrylic sheet. I then added some silver  and applied that to highlight and lift the colours.

Next, I turned the sheet over so that the Alcohol inks are on the back, removed the film and then with the Matte Black Embossing paste I pasted three Hot Air Balloons and then left them to dry. I have a magnetic sheet underneath the acrylic to help hold the stencil in place, I did tape the stencil in place, but it was a bit tricky because of the way that I wanted to place the balloons, and if you get paste on the acrylic, it will wipe off easily.

1

the front

3

The back.

After the paste is dry

4

put the stencil back on and ink over the paste with a Watermark Pad and add some Metallic F/X mica powders. I have used the Moonstone and the Nouveau Orange.

5

Colour all three balloons

10

Then the photograph, this was taken from the top of the tower at the edge of the square.

8

So on the back I put a photograph taken from the ground and a story. I don’t always add the story, but after listening to Christina from A Maze of Memories and Mel Heaton of Paper Dreams discussing how important the story is I have added some words to the back.

6

I even have a title, made with alphabet chippies and embossed with shabby white and then touched up with Iceburg alcohol ink.

11

I attached the letters with Glossy Accents.

I have hung the page on a room divider so you can see both sided of it.

Thank you for visiting see you soon.

5 thoughts on “Woodware and Crafty Cardmakers – Mixed Media

  1. Pingback: Woodware Challenge – Acetate | dorrie's doodles

  2. Pingback: Woodware Challenge Using Acetate – Day 2 » Woodware Craft Collection Blog

Leave a Reply

