Woodware Challenge – Colours of the Earth

Over on the Woodware blog this week we are looking at the colours of the earth my project happened by accident, not a mistake. I started out at the weekend making a cover for a mirror that was a present, I like it very much and didn’t want to keep it in my handbag without a cover in case it got damaged. It ties in with the theme on the Dream It Up blog this month.

But well, I don’t really use earthy colours so I made a phone cover for Judith (the Boss) she is getting a new phone soon so I have made a pocket for it.(I haven’t posted it to her yet)

phone_case_finishedI have used a very old Dreamweaver stencil Fern and Flowers

phone_case1you can see that I have not coloured the flowers on the stencils only the ferns. That is one of my favourite things about stencils it is so easy to only colour the parts that you want. I coloured with an assortment of ColorBox Crafters ink pads and my ColorBox Stylus tool.

phone_case2The other side I coloured in the same way but used the Leaf Branch stencil and over stencilled it.

The surface that I have used is craft Canvas by Roc-lon, which we are going to be stocking but it has not arrived yet. It is a fabric that thinks it is a paper, you can cut it with a trimmer or scissors and it very easy to use.

phone_case3I have used a zig-zag stitch to attach some velvet to the back.

phone_case4on the fern side I used free machining around the ferns. Then I trimmed closely to the zig-zag.

phone_case_backThen zig-zag the two pieces together, the zig-zag gives you a nice finish and no turning or finishing off.

Here is the mirror cover.

mirror-pouch

2 pieces of Craft Canvas

mirror-pouch_hearts The stencil is Hearty Whimsy

mirror-pouch_flowerand this one is Fairy Flower Circle.mirror-pouch_completeand here is the finished pouch.

Pop over and see what the rest of the girls have been up too on the Woodware Blog, and a card by the boss.

Thank you for visitng

5 thoughts on “Woodware Challenge – Colours of the Earth

  1. Both covers are wonderful!! I can’t decide which one I like best!! The colors are great on both and I like how you stitched the edges zig zag for a no-turn project. Thanks for playing in our challenge this month at Dreamweaver Stencils!

Leave a Reply

