Woodware Challenge – Week 73 – Upcycling – Day 3

Well I would like to have wonderful hand painted furniture all around my home, perhaps I should invite Tammi from Stampendous to stay, for a month or two. Here is the sort of thing that Tammi creates.

You can find the instructions here on the Stampendous website, they even have printable instructions.

But I digress last year I used Dreamweaver stencils to decorate a small chest which has pride of place in my hall. So this year I have been a little bit more adventurous. I wanted some storage in my sitting room but had no idea what I wanted, but I found this in my craft cabin.

We had a few of these in our work shop area when I had my shop.

I am not good with paint so I opted for a distressed look, and painted a rough coat of black acrylic paint all over the carcase.

 I used a Stampendous border and embossed it with Aged Gold the border is from the Perfectly Clear set Damask Chair. Because the wood was a bit uneven I had trouble getting all of my stamping to be perfect, but that just adds to the distressed look (that is my excuse reason)

Here is a close up of the drawers.

The swirl stamp on the side and he top is from the Jumbo Cling Rubber set Romantic Border.

To finnish off and seal the paint I mixed Matte Perfect Paper Adhesive with Sparkling Copper PearlEx Powder.

Well then I did a second one.

 I stacked them and they make a good end table.

Three was too high so this one sits on a table. I have a rather ugly radio hidden behind it.

Well perhaps I should have stopped their…..

These two came from Woolworth’s and were a cheep copy of the budget price Ikea ones!

This time I used Aged Silver Powder

but well I still had one more chest!

This one I found in the loft it was a pine bedside chest of drawers.

This one is Aged Gold and the border stamp is from the Romantic Jumbo Cling Rubber Set.

It was not easy doing the top, it was a bit heavy tipping up the chest to get the excess powder off.

This photograph doesn’t do them justice but I embossed  the wooden knobs with a Frantage mixture. My son was even impressed with this piece and I did wonder if he would ask for it back since it did start life in his room.

I am sitting typing this up and wondering what to do next, I do want to do something with the plain table lights……

Thank you for visiting today, over on Woodware we are upcycling all week and we have everything from furniture to cards so pop over a have a look at what the girls have been up too.

3 thoughts on “Woodware Challenge – Week 73 – Upcycling – Day 3

  1. Hi Dorothy, In my best Craig Revel Horwood impersonation I would like to say ‘FABULOUS’ and ‘AMAZING’. They really are both. I love them all. Any chance you could pop over to Dublin to me for a revamp of my place? Nicola x

Leave a Reply

