Woodware Challenge – Week 61 – Zentangle – Zendoodle

Over on Woodware this week we have been looking at Zentangle this is what I had to say about it on Monday:-

This week we are looking at Zentangle, or Zen-doodle or just plain old doodling if you like. Zentangle is the name that has been given to this technique by Rick Roberts and Maria Thomas, a couple who want to spread relaxation through doodling. The Zentangle web site has got videos and samples, I was lucky enough to meet Rick and Maria and do a mini class with them.

Sandy Bartholomew in the introduction to her book Yoga for the Brain describes it like this:- Zentangle is meditation achieved through pattern-drawing. A Zentangle is a complicated looking drawing that is built one line at a time. With your mind engaged in drawing your body relaxes.

I find that all colouring and doodling does this but perhaps we should all try to tangle every day.

You can find lots of ideas on the Internet and also lots of books including this one, which features Dreamweaver stencils. So of course it has a special place in our hearts.

I spent my spare time last weekend doodling away I had a couple of frames that I had bought and not done anything with lying on the table so I decided to draw around the mount and see what I could come up with.

This is what I came up with…

It took some time to do but it was very relaxing and lots of fun. I like the fact that things don’t have to be straight.

When I was loading samples for the new Stampendous stamps to the Woodware Website Gallery I came across a card which made me think…

Stampendous Cling Rubber Stamp Holly Basket CRQ163

What caught my attention was the background paper (I have no idea where the paper came from) which made me think of this….

Dreamweaver Stencil Plaid LX7002

Well it turned into this……

It was my daughter’s wedding anniversary this week so I put the Dreamweaver Plaid Stripe  stencil on to an 8 x 8 canvas and inked it with ColorBox  Cats Eye Chalk Queue Rose Petal

The beauty of Zentangling is their may be ideas but and some hints and tips but no right or wrong.

And of course it does not have to be neat!

 So then I got carried away

I like using large frames with wide mounts, the Zentangle makes it easy to decorate the mount and pulls it all together.

I made this for a friend who is having a wobble about herself at the moment.

and then well…

My new French Daughter-in-Law has a birthday this week.

Edwige was fascinated by Shona’s canvas, I thought that she didn’t like it by she was examining it really closely, but she didn’t believe that I had done it by hand, so she got a simple card, again with the Plaid Stripe stencil. Shona did say when I gave it to her oh is that a Rollagraph, the cheek!

For the blue picture I used just some blue card and Sakura Micron pens in 01 and 05 in black.

The other picture and the birthday card I did on water-colour paper and I used ColorBox Archival Dye Ink Tutti Fruiti Queue for both, which shows the colour variety in the set. The pens were the same black Sakura Micron pens.

Thank you for visiting today, you will find lots of Zentangle inspiration on the Woodware Blog so pop over and have a look.

One thought on “Woodware Challenge – Week 61 – Zentangle – Zendoodle

Leave a Reply

