Woodware Challenge Week 46 – Happy 21st Birthday

We are celebrating 21st birthday’s over on the Woodware blog this week, and I am celebrating my new sewing machine.

First of all I made the background on Woodware’s new white hammer card, I love hammer card so I am very happy that they now have hammer as well as linen and leather. I stamped with ColorBox Wicked Black dye ink the Stampendous cling Music Score stamp and the flourish from the Stampendous Perfectly Clear Effel Tower set. I then inked with my stylus handle and a round foam tip I used a mixture of the Limited Edition pigment inks Blue Jeans and Stormy Seas.

I stamped the record player from the Artemio clear set called Office in wicked black again on the hammer card.

I then stamped  and embossed in silver the happy birthday wording and the key. The key comes from the Artemio Office set and the words were from Jane’s Essential Birthdays.

Then I stitched it all together!

You can use any sewing machine to sew through paper, the needle will become blunt so keep one just for paper and card. I just used a variety of the stitches that the machine has to offer and stiched the bits into place. I used a very small piece of double sided tape to hold the small pieces in place while I was sewing. If you do all your stitching on a single piece of card and then attach it to you folded card you will hide the back of the stitching and double sided tape will hold the stiching in place, so no need to finish off your ends!

I rounded all of the corners with the regular corner rounder.

I have a sewing machine that I had for years which I love very much, but it is quite heavy and I do worry about it sewing paper so I got this one from John Lewis after playing with someone else’s small one, this machine and the smaller version both sew well and seem to offer good value. They do make it in lilac, but they did not have any in stock the day I went to buy it!

I hope that you like my 21st card, to see what the rest of the girls have come up with visit the Woodware Blog.

Thank you for popping in see you soon!

Leave a Reply

