Woodware Challenge Week 33 – Handbags at Dawn!

Over on Woodware it is handbags this week, so lots of great stamps and stencils with handbags on, or even a template or two, but no I have been sewing this weekend so I got carried away, I am supposed to be making curtains with a deadline of Thursday, and all I have so far is a plan, and some fabric.

My handbag…

Really much faster than you would think the fabric that the bag is made from is silk that I had died years ago, so nice to use it and I have stencilled on some  lilac silk.

The stencil is one of my favourites from Dreamweaver Heart Whimsy. I taped the stencil down and masked off the hearts. Then using a dauber inked through the stencil with Colorbox Watermark Pad, and added the Vintage Olive embossing tinsel to the visible stems and leaves, and heated. Then clean off the stencil and tape back into position and ink again and this time I used Vintage Plum.

I hope that you can see the tinsel sparkle in the photo.

Did you know that you can use embossing powder on wearable art? Yes you can run it through he washing machine! Not that I will use the bag often enough to require washing but I will use it!

The bag pattern came from a book that I have misplaced, or I think lent to someone so I can not credit the designer.

Thank you for visiting today, you can tell that I am really happy with my bag, to see what the rest of the girls have been up to this week pop to Woodware.

Now off back to the curtains:( But before I do that I am going to enter this in the challenge over at Dreamweaver they have hearts as the theme so it should do nicely!

4 thoughts on “Woodware Challenge Week 33 – Handbags at Dawn!

  1. Thank you Dorothy for playing along with us this month!!! I LOVE this idea. Heart Whimsey is one of my favorite stencils also!!! Hope to see some more fabulous creations!!!

Leave a Reply

