Woodware Challenge Just One Layer

While here we still do lots of layers in the US they are having a trend for stamping straight on the card, not my favourite thing to do, put this card was fun, it would also be good for doing lots, I may even manage Christmas cards with this design!

I have used masking, which I first saw at a stamping show in London probably about 17 years ago! I have no idea who it was that was doing the demo but I was completely bowled over by the picture that she created with this single strawberry!

If you have never tried masking then please give it a go, this one is very very simple.

The first thing that you stamp on your card is what ever you want to be at the front of the picture. So I stamped the snowman from Francoise Clear Magic set I Love Snowmen. I like this set, very much, and  it is a very easy design to use for this as it is so easy to cut out. I stamped with black Versafine and embossed with Stampendous Kaleidoscope Embossing Powder. This powder adds sparkle which changes colour depending on how long you heat it for. (I have not used it for ages and it is an old favourite.) It does not rise like a normal powder which is good for masking

To make the mask you stamp your main image on some thin paper and then cut it out. Cut on the lines so that you have no border. Then use Quickie Glue on the back and leave it to go tacky so that your mask is  reposition-able.

Place the mask directly over the image and stamp on the background stamp. I have used on of Jane’s Singles  Festive Background which works well for this cute stamp but will work equally well with a more traditional design of stamp.

You can see that I have had several uses from my mask, and it will go on and on giving you great service.

I coloured in the image with turquiose Sakura Glaze pen and added Crystal glitter. For the body of the snowman I used a Quickie Glue pen and Crystal glitter.

I love using Glaze Pens and Crystal glitter as the  glitter takes on the colur that is underneath and I make less mess than if I have lots of different colours of glitter out at once!  You have to work in small areas at a time as they don’t stay wet for as long as the quickie glue.

Well I hope that you like my One Layer Card, it will be Francoise turn tomorrow over on the Woodware Blog. 

Leave a Reply

