Woodware Challenge Week 20… Look What I Did with My Flock… Day 4

This week on the Woodware blog we are all using flock. Flock is one of those things that comes out of the drawer every once in a while.

I have gone for an oriental theme.

I have used three Dreamweaver Stencils. I used copper embossing paste on the  Vertical Dragon and when the paste was dry I used Quickie Glue on the  fins down his back. Are they called fins? I am sure they must have a proper name, I just don’t know it.

The flock that I have used is Chilli Pepper Red but the colour that you get from it depends on what is underneath it.

Here you can see that I used the background Triangle Weave stencil to create a background. I used the Matte White embossing paste which is the original paste, while the paste was wet I sprinkled on the flock and left it in while the paste dried. Because the paste is wet when you put the flock on you can not push it on as you would if it was glue this gives a nice mottled effect. If I had used the Red Paste under the flock it would have been given a stronger effect. The small oriental text stencil is called Laugh, Dreamweaver have a large selection of oriental text, I chose laugh as I think that the dragon is smiling. I have used the matte  Black Embossing paste under the red flock and you can really see the difference between the white and the black paste.

The borders were done with double sided tape and Metal Leaf. I used a mixture of gold, silver and copper leaf that was left over from previous use and I  keep the left overs in a tub.

I hope you like my take on the flock, why not pay a visit to the Woodware blog to see what the rest of the girls have been up too.

3 thoughts on “Woodware Challenge Week 20… Look What I Did with My Flock… Day 4

  1. WOW!!! This is dramatic and fabulous Dorothy!!! Thank you so much for joining us for the Dreamweaver Stencil Free Week Challenge!! I can’t wait to see what you create for our Pink & Black Color challenge this week!! Have a great day!!!

  2. Love your rendition of this dragon and especially that new background stencil. Certainly reminds me of what dragon scales might look like! The crackle gives that scale effect as well. thanks for playing with us this past week!

Leave a Reply

