Woodware Dreamweaver Blog Hop

This week we are having a blog hop with the girls from the Dreamweaver Team it is a week long hope and there are lots of cards and other things to look at as you hop around the blogs each day.

At the end of our celebration, each designer will randomly select a winner from all blog comments to receive a free Dreamweaver stencil. We look forward to you playing along with us!

Today I have used Dreamweaver Stencil Paste in Matte Black and the Butterfly Duo Stencil.

This is a set of drawers from Ikea that I keep odds and ends in. it sits in the hall beside the telephone and holds the very important take away menus!

I started by painting it bright yellow with acrylic paint. I then stencilled the butterflys

on the sides

and I also put one on the top

which does not show up in the photograph of the whole thing

Before I stencilled the butterflies on the front I decided that it was too yellow so I washed the fronts of the drawers with a Green-Yellow Duo Pearl Ex  mixed with Gloss PPA glue this turns the Pearl Ex powders into an acrylic paint, I again used the Matte Black Dreamweaver Embossing paste to add the butterflies to the drawers fronts.

I hope that you like my small chest now off you go and visit Kristi in her Creative Cafe, but don’t forget to leave a comment before you go.

23 thoughts on “Woodware Dreamweaver Blog Hop

  1. Pingback: Woodware Challenge – Week 73 – Upcycling – Day 3 « dorrie's doodles

  2. I am so impressed by people stencilling on furniture – I can mess a card and then chuck it away but you can’t do that with items like this!

  3. Dorothy…this is fabulous. That stencil is one of my favorites!!! Love the dresser. Maybe I should do that to Hubs and I’s dresser…Bawahaha!!
    Have a great day!!

  4. This is such a good idea. I wish I could see the effect of the Pearl Ex paint you created in real life. I’m sure it lends your drawers a really cool shimmer that makes a great backdrop for the matte black butterflies..

  5. Great idea – the drawers are darling! I will have to get to IKEA. That’s the second really cute home dec. project that involved an IKEA product used as the base! Thanks!

  6. Dorothy…this is great! And a day for beautiful boxes on the hop. One thing I have learned as we have been doing other things besides cards is that there is a massive amount of objects to be stenciled. Whether they are found in a thrift store or at IKEA…loads of inspiration Dorothy, thanks.

  7. I’d love your chest of drawers in my hallway!! Stunning use of the stencil & I didn’t know thet trick with the Pearl Ex & PPA I’ll have to file that away! Beautiful project Dorothy!

Leave a Reply

